Nonwords

by Nichita Stanescu

He held out towards me a leaf like a hand with fingers.
I held out towards him a hand like a leaf with teeth.
He held out towards me a branch like an arm.
I held out towards him my arm like a branch.
He leaned his trunk like an apple towards me.
I leaned towards him my shoulder
like a gnarled trunk.
I could hear his sap accelerating, beating
like blood.
I could hear my blood slowing down, ascending like sap.
I passed through him.
He passed through me.
I remained a solitary tree.
He
a solitary man.

Leave a Reply

