In secret loving

by Mihai Eminescu

In secret loving I have kept the silence,
Thinking that you will like it more this way,
For in your eyes I read an everlastingness
Of murderously pleasure fantasies.

But I cannot endure it. Longing’s power
Gives words to tender mysteries;
I want to drown in the sweet kindling
Of that soul alone who knows my soul.

Do you not see my mouth is thirsty
And in my eyes my torment burns
My beautiful with long blonde hair beloved?

With your breath you can cool my moaning,
And with your smile you make my thinking drunk,
Please end this pain, and come to my embrace.

Leave a Reply

