Too late

by Tudor Gheorghe

Lord I fear it’s been a long while
Since I’ve arrive in the middle and I do not know
What am I? Question or answer?
Am I dead or still alive?

Strange sounds touch me
Leaving blood-colored traces on me,
The snow that falls on me
It comes too late, it comes too late…

Where did I go wrong and what word
Wanders astray from fearing me?
And for what longing was I grave
And for what sun was I sunset?

Show me the way and I will go
Without a single glance behind,
But give me one tear of cuckoo
On a tiny clover leaf

To take as candle for the road
To keep me company in night,
When the small knot will hang with smoke
And it will softly sing a song.

Strange sounds touch me
Leaving bloody traces on me,
The snow that falls on me
It comes too late, it comes too late…

Lord I fear it’s been a long while
Since I’ve arrive in the middle and I do not know
What am I? Question or answer?
Am I dead or still alive?

Leave a Reply

