The most beautiful day

by Alexandru Andries

A way of prolonging the most beautiful day
Would be if you could lie to me.
We’d set the time back, we’d boil two soft eggs,
You’d tell me that in the house there’s no one else.

Silence would help you get rid of my question,
Of all the questions, the heaviest.
When the evening would turn into gray, you wouldn’t be able to contain yourself.
You’d speak on the phone from the bathroom.
With a dark voice, with a gloomy air,
With anything, just to see me gone.
And then I ask you: do you remember the most beautiful day?
It was in the beginning, when you couldn’t lie to me at all.

Leave a Reply

