Eminescu*

by Doina and Ion Aldea Teodorovici

When the sun was built, we know
The sky worked eternally,
And us, working on and on
We achieved Lord Eminescu.
Lord of fascination bird,
Lord of our eternity,
Eminescu, Eminescu

God, they’ve stolen him just now,
Our high lord of laurels,
I am all in tears and longing
Knowing not I’m missing him,
Knowing not they’ve sole our doina
With our old and ancient country,
Eminescu, Eminescu,

Refrain:

We are in word and everything
Flower of Latinity
Under a sky with southern stars.
If we are right or we are not
If we are right or we are not,
Let Eminescu be the judge of that.

Now I have a place in this world,
I can embrace your wonderful book,
I know you are my brother
And I know you are my father,
Nobody can lie** to me anymore.
Welcome in our home,
My kindred, blue flower – you,
Eminescu, Eminescu.

Refrain

Mihai Eminescu (15 Jan 1859 – 15 Jun 1889) was a Romantic poet, novelist and journalist, often regarded as the most famous and influential Romanian poet.

Eminescu

Mihai Eminescu, Prague, 1869

Leave a Reply

