Song for the boys killed in Chisinau

by Savatie Bastovoi

I wish I told you what cannot be spoken,
I wish I gave you what cannot be bought.
It is a certain, certain way of feeling,
Because I wish to share with you my heart.

I wish I wrote to you with fingers
Of this hand my Creator made,
Words that we’ll take with us forever,
Which only longing can appraise.

I wish I touched you like somebody
Would gently touch you on deathbed,
When there’s no room for word and teardrop,
To feel my heartbeat in your hand.

Leave a Reply

